Federal Government: Legislative Information
- Congress.orgCongressional Quarterly database which has searchable member directories and current awareness.
- U.S. House of Representatives
- U.S. Senate
- ThomasLegislative information from the Library of Congress.
- Library of Congress Government ResourcesGovernment Resources: Links to Congressional information from official and non-official sources.
- How a Bill Becomes a LawA flow chart of the path a bill takes to become a law.
Federal Government: Regulatory Information
- U.S. Government ManualThe Manual provides information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial and executive branches as well as boards, committees, and commissions. It gives summaries of agencies' purposes, brief histories and also gives consumer and public interest information. It includes indexes by personal name and agency/subject.
The Tulane Law Library has the current paper copy in the Reference Collection (AE 2.108/2). Older editions are in the 5th Floor Government Documents collection. - Code of Federal RegulationsAdministrative Regulations arranged by Agency and subject in the FDsys government database.
- Code of Federal RegulationsAdministrative Regulations in the Cornell Legal Information Institute database.
- Federal RegisterAdministrative Regulations published in a daily format and including proposed regulations.
Go to:
- Howard-Tilton Library HomeGo back to the library's home page.
- Research HelpContact information, consultation and workshop information, and online help options.
Find E-Journal
Law Library Government Documents Introduction

The Tulane Law Library is one of approximately 1,400 Federal depository libraries throughout the United States and its territories, at least one in almost every Congressional District. All provide free public access to a wide variety of Federal government information in both print and electronic formats, and have expert staff available to assist users. The Law Library is also a Louisiana State Documents Depository as well as receiving some international documents on deposit.
The Tulane Law
Library became a Congressionally designated federal depository library in 1976,
with the assistance and support of Lindy Boggs, our Congressional Representative
at the time here in the 2nd Congressional District. We were assigned the
depository number 0227-A. Public Law 95-261 [92 Stat. 199], which gave
accredited law schools the opportunity to become part of the depository program
under a special designation category, was enacted in 1978. In 1985, the
Government Printing Office (GPO), which administers the depository program,
requested that we change our designation from a Congressional one to a law
school one, in order to free up another Congressional designation in the 2nd
District. We agreed to do so, and the change was made in July of 1985. Our
depository number remained the same, and there was no change in our depository
shipments or operations. By becoming a
federal depository library, we agreed to abide by our responsibilities as
specified in Tittle 44 of the United States Code.
We receive approximately 26% of the item numbers
available for selection from the GPO, a percentage that is more than twice the
average selection rate for law libraries. Our collection is based on the needs
of the law faculty and students, as well as the community at large. We cooperate
with other depositories in the area in order to ensure that our collection is
both responsive to the information needs of our users, and efficient in its
operation.

Databases
Use Databases & Indexes (the terms are often used interchangeably) to identify research articles, technical reports, book chapters, and other materials on your topic. You may need to search more than one database to locate the most appropriate materials for your information need.
- Government Documents Online
- Marcive Catalog of U.S. Government Publications July 1976 - the present
- USA.Gov"One stop shopping" for government information.
- Frequently Used Sites Related to U.S. Federal Government InformationAmerican Library Association Federal Documents Task Force (FDTF) and Government Documents Round Table (GODORT)
- White House InformationThe president posts his weekly address videos here. Speeches & Remarks, Press Briefings, Statements & Releases, the White House Schedule, Presidential Actions,
Legislation, Nominations & Appointments and much more information can be found here. - U.S. Government BookstoreGovernment documents can be purchased online. Government documents are usually inexpensive.
- Hein Online(you must have a Tulane email username and password) The Federal Register Library, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Supreme Court Library, or the U.S. Federal Legislative History Library.
Created by: |
Contact Info Reference and Government Documents / Microforms Librarian School of Law Library Tulane University 6329 Freret St. New Orleans, LA 70118-6231 Tel 504.865.5994 fax 865.5917 Send Email Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
