A doggone good guide...
Last Updated: Aug 4, 2016
CALI lessons allow you to work through different rules and doctrines in an interactive format in which you answer questions and explain your reasoning.
For Animal Law lessons click here.
*Ask at the Reference Desk for the CALI authorization code to register your username and password
- Animal Legal & Historical Web Center
Created and maintained by the Michigan State University College of Law, this site provides links to selected U.S. and international cases, state statutes, news articles, and journal articles addressing animal issues. Researchers should, as always, independently validate cases located on the site.
- Animal Legal Defense Fund, Laws & Cases
This portion of the ALDF website provides lists of animal protection laws for the U.S. and Canada, model animal protection laws, a manual for legal advocates, and a number of other excellent sources on legal issues affecting animals.
- ALDF's Animal Protection Laws of the United States of America & Canada
Now in its sixth edition, Animal Protection Laws is a great resource for animal law researchers and advocates. The resource includes a detailed survey of general animal protection and related statutes for all U.S. states and Canada. To download the resource, you must complete a request form. Upon ALDF's receipt of the same, an email will be sent to you including a link that may be used to download the resource.
- Center for Animal Law Studies
The Center for Animal Law Studies is an animal law think tank that offers guidance and support for the Animal Law Program at the Lewis & Clark Law School. Selected publications are linked on the site.
All the books below are in the Reserve Room. Older editions available for checkout can be found at the same call number on the 5th floor.
Animal Law Blog
A practitioner from Illinois writes this blog
Animal Blawg has been in operation since October 2008. It is written by two law professors and a law student from Pace Law School.
The Animal Legal Defense Fund Blog is a source for commentary and analysis of legislation and and case law nationwide.
- Humane Society of the United States
This site provides links to PDF copies of white papers authored by HSUS on farm animal welfare, as well as statistics on U.S. farm animal slaughter, per capita meat, egg, and dairy, consumption, and on the top five states factory farms.
- International Institute for Animal Law
This site provides access to legislation and cases pertaining to the rights and welfare of animals. Links are provided to both pending legislation and existing laws, as well as model animal laws and case law digests.
Pet-Abuse.Com is a national animal protection organization that researches and tracks incidents of criminal animal cruelty. Among the great resources available on this site: the Online Animal Cruelty Database, Convicted Abuser database, CaseWatch, and National CourtWatch.
- The National Agricultural Law Center
Provides a select list of major statutes, regulations, cases, and reference sources on animal welfare issues, with a particular focus on law governing agriculture.